Photo
- - - - -

Tow Rope

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 LosingGrip

LosingGrip

Trooper

• Power Users
  • 932 posts

Posted 30 August 2010 - 08:52 PM

I've just picked up a tow rope from work for 25p, might come in handy one day...however heard that its now illegal for use a rope for towing...is this correct? I've had a quick google and can't see anything that stands out.

Thanks.

#2 rick_preston

rick_preston

Starting Out

• Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 30 August 2010 - 09:21 PM

I work in a garage and we cant use a tow rope, we have to use a towing bar. We got told is is now illegal to use a rope but i'm unsure how true this is. i've got to admit it feels a dam lot safer on the end of a bar!

#3 LosingGrip

LosingGrip

Trooper

• Power Users
  • 932 posts

Posted 30 August 2010 - 10:58 PM

Heh...no wonder they where only 25p xD. I hated using the bar...let alone with a rope!

#4 Law_Grad

Law_Grad

Die Hard

• Members
  • 1,700 posts

Posted 30 August 2010 - 11:04 PM

I have nothing to support it, but it’s worth bearing in mind that what you can do and with what materials & equipment, can vary depending upon whether you are at home or in the workplace.

If I was a gambling man, then I would be tempted to wager that whilst tow ropes might not be considered good form in the workplace, that doesn’t stop an average Joe from using one privately.

#5 brand b

brand b

Veteran

• Members
  • 1,768 posts

Posted 31 August 2010 - 07:53 AM

I'd go with the LawGrad response. What you use at work wll vary enormously form what you may use at home. As the principle of a tow rope is no different from a tow chain, and they are still used, can't see how they would have been 'banned'
As for a rope for 25p. You have to ask what is its condition?

#6 oddbod

oddbod

Forum Legend

• Members
  • 2,351 posts

Posted 31 August 2010 - 09:21 AM

Thats money for old rope.

#7 Rocket

Rocket