11 replies to this topic

#1 Beanyman

Beanyman

I'm new!

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 August 2011 - 12:32 PM

Hi,

I'm new to the idea of becoming a Special since my regs application has been binned recently due to the budget cuts, so apologies if this is answered elsewhere in the forum (I have looked)

How do shifts work ?

- Do you call in & tell them you are on your way/book your availability ?

- Do you commit to the same shift weekly ?

- Do you tie your availability in with when a regs shift starts ?

- How many hours ? the whole regs shift / part of a shift ?

#2 sparkydale

sparkydale

Forum Fixture

• Power Users
  • 1,032 posts

Posted 11 August 2011 - 12:42 PM

That all depends on which force you work for and to an extent, what station/division within that.

Personally, I often do complete shifts as requested, but for example, during the week I will work 19:00 - 00:00. Saturday it will 19:00 - 03:00.
Times will have to be flexible. I rarely finish at 03:00, especially if there is an arrest later on in the shift.

The shifts tend to be based at my home station and as always, as much notice as possible should be given through whichever route your force uses to manage duties (last night I committed to specific shifts going forward to November).

I have also gone in at quite short notice (a few days) and reported to the duty sergeant and then getting them to crew me with someone. This doesnt always work if there is noone suitable to be crewed with.

#3 Beanyman

Beanyman

I'm new!

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 August 2011 - 01:03 PM

Thanks for the reply.

I'm looking to join Nottingham and there's a recruitment day coming up soon but just wanted an idea of what, if any, the norm is for a typical shift duration. I know they want a committment of 16 hours per month and that just turning up for your 4 hours isn't going to be popular or productive.